Interreg Flanders-Netherlands

Interreg Flanders-Netherlands is a subsidy programme which has worked to foster collaboration between (border) regions in Flanders and the Netherlands since 1990. The aim of Interreg Vlaanderen-Nederland is to contribute, through targeted crossborder initiatives, to sustainable social and economic development throughout the border region of Flanders and the southern provinces of the Netherlands. The programme is financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). This structural fund supports authorities and organisations in the different regions to carry out crossborder projects that contribute to the economic and/or social development of those regions.

Interreg V is the fifth phase of this programme, running from 2014 to 2020. Programmes under the ‘European territorial cooperation’ objective are divided into three strands: Interreg VA for crossborder cooperation, Interreg VB for transnational cooperation and Interreg VC for interregional cooperation.

Interreg Vlaanderen–Nederland received € 152 575 585 from the ERDF to invest in valuable crossborder projects between 2014 and 2020.

Management authority

The province of Antwerp has been appointed as management authority and is responsible for the delivery of the programme.

The joint secretariat supports the management authority in its tasks.


Certifying authority

The East Flanders province has been appointed as the certifying authority and is responsible for receiving and disbursing European subsidies.


Audit authority

Flanders Audit Authority is the responsible audit authority.